Home  /  About  /  iBEST Leadership


Universities and hospitals play a critical role in driving innovation in healthcare.

In 2013, Ryerson and St. Michael’s Hospital agreed on a 20-year partnership to launch iBEST with leadership from both institutions.

Ryerson and St. Michael’s Hospital believe that innovation is born from multidisciplinary collaboration. Both institutions have a history of research collaborations, joint commercialization projects, and education and training opportunities dating back nearly two decades.


Executive Committee


Dr. Steven N. Liss

Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Ryerson University


Dr. Michael Benarroch

Provost and Vice-President, Academic
Ryerson University


Dr. Arthur Slutsky

Vice-President of Research
St. Michael's Hospital

iBEST Co-Directors


Dr. Michael Kolios

Associate Dean, Faculty of Science
Ryerson University


Dr. Sri Krishnan

Associate Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science
Ryerson University


Dr. Ori Rotstein

Director, Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science
St. Michael's Hospital

iBEST Scientific Operations Committee

Stephen Barker, Facilities
Brigitte Dreger-Smylie, Biomedical Zone Representative
Carlos Escudero, St. Michael’s Research Student Association Representative
Dr. Katalin Szaszi, Research Training Centre
Sylvia Kavanagh, Communications
Ana Gajic, Communications

Dr. Michael Kolios, Scientific Director
Dr. Sri Krishnan
, Scientific Director
Dr. General Leung, Theme Lead
Jennifer MacInnis, Research Office Liaison
Dr. Linda Maxwell, Biomedical Zone Representative
Dr. Ori Rotstein, Scientific Director
Dr. Alireza Sadeghian, Theme Lead
Samar Saneinejad, Research Office Liaison

Imran Sheikh, iBEST Coordinator
Aravin Sukumar, St. Michael’s Research Student Association Representative
Dr. Scott Tsai, Theme Lead
Dr. Stephen Waldman, Scientific Consultant (PI)
Dr. Yeni Yücel, Scientific Consultant (PI)
Dr. Haibo Zhang, Theme Lead